top of page
Writer's pictureDorothy Ghiorzo

Is blogging for me?

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

I've always heard people speak about blogs or blogging, but reading or starting blogs never interested me. I thought, 'Oh, good for them, but it's not my thing.' Fast forward to today, I am writing my first blog. Do I doubt myself that I can do it? Absolutely! Do I have a million things going through my head? Most definitely! What to blog about is what's causing the most anxiety. "Clueless, confused, and confounded with choices, we had no idea how to start a blog or how to be a blogger," was what a couple of bloggers posted on their site, which was very comforting to read. I am taking a leap of faith to start, no matter how I feel. In today's blog, I will focus on who I am, my background, and my life.



I was born in Haiti and came to America at 11 years old. What a culture shock that was! Coming to a new country, not speaking or understanding the language, and not having any friends was frightening. Thankfully I was able to pick up the English language reasonably fast due to an excellent ESL teacher. Needless to say, I am fluent in speaking, reading, and writing English. After high school, I decided to continue my education, so I tried to pursue a degree in nursing, which I never completed. After changing my Major three times, I finally earned my Communications and Theater Arts undergrad with a Psychology Minor. It wasn't until years later- after I had my first two children- that I realized that I wanted to be a teacher. I returned to school and obtained a degree in Early Childhood Education. I truly enjoyed teaching my young children the foundational skills needed to have a successful life. I would love to teach adults one day, specifically immigrant adults who struggle with the English language and do not know what skills are needed to make it in America.



Four children later, I am now in grad school to obtain a degree in Education (Med). Being a wife, a stay-at-home mother, homeschooling two preschoolers, starting the process of college touring with my firstborn, and being in grad school is challenging. How do I do it, you ask? I ask myself the same question, but truthfully my only answer is: only by the grace of God. One thing for sure is that I want to be a role model to my children, friends, parents, and educators alike. Life has been challenging for my family, especially these past couple of years, but giving up is not an option. I encourage anyone reading this blog to keep pushing and stay strong. I'm still determining how to conclude this blog, but what do you think? Is blogging for me?


References




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page